Faculty

G. John Andersen

G. John Andersen
Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 1985

Email: john.andersen@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4383
Office: 3119

Visual Cognition Lab
Cognitive psychology; human factors; perception.

Ilana Bennett

Ilana Bennett
Assistant Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., Georgetown University, 2009

Email: ilana.bennett@ucr.edu
Office: 2127

Laboratory of Aging and Neurocognitive Imaging  |  RA Application
Cognitive neuroscience of learning and memory; neurocognitive aging; magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

Curt Burgess

Curt Burgess
Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., University of Rochester, 1991

Email: curt.burgess@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-2392
Office: 3111F

Psycholinguistics & Computational Cognition Lab  |  RA Application
Psycholinguistics; parsing, sentence comprehension; lexical ambiguity; computational models of language and memory; neurolinguistics.

Cecilia Cheung

Cecilia Cheung
Assistant Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2013

Email: sin.cheung@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5266
Office: 2119

Culture and Child Development Lab   |   RA Application
How children's environment shapes their motivation and achievement in school.

Christine Chiarello

Christine Chiarello
Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1982

Email: christine.chiarello@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5096
Office: 2111E

Cognitive Neuroscience Lab   |   RA Application
Neural and cognitive bases of language comprehension; semantic memory; interhemispheric interaction.

Steven E. Clark

Steven E. Clark
Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., Indiana University, 1988

Email: steven.clark@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5541
Office: 3111E

Memory and cognition.

Elizabeth Davis

Elizabeth Davis
Assistant Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 2009

Email: elizabeth.davis@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5236
Office: 3115

Emotional Regulation Lab   |   RA Application
Physiological and social correlates of emotion development and emotion regulation in childhood, how emotion regulation relates to positive (e.g., learning) and negative (e.g., psychopathology) outcomes.

William Dunlop

William Dunlop
Assistant Professor
Social/Personality; Health
Ph.D., University of British Columbia, 2013

Email: william.dunlop@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5265
Office: 2115

Personality and Identity Lab   |   RA Application
Personality; life stories; health & well-being

John Franchak

John Franchak
Assistant Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., New York University, 2011

Email: john.franchak@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-3898
Office: 2125

Perception, Action, and Development Lab   |   RA Application
Perception and development; how children use perceptual information to guide actions and social interactions; head-mounted eye-tracking methods to study visual constraints and learning, across development.

Howard Friedman

Howard Friedman
Distinguished Professor
Social/Personality; Health
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1976

Personal website
Email: howard.friedman@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-3672
Office: 3111D

Video on The Longevity Project
Social psychology; personality; nonverbal communication; health psychology.

David C. Funder

David C. Funder
Distinguished Professor
Social/Personality
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1979

Email: david.funder@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-3938
Office: 2111D

Riverside Accuracy Project   |   RA Application
Personality and social psychology, social judgment, situational assessment.

Mary Gauvain

Mary Gauvain
Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., University of Utah, 1982

Email: mary.gauvain@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4690
Office: 2111F

Cognitive Development Lab   |   RA Application
Developmental psychology; cognitive development; cultural psychology.

Peter Hickmott

Peter Hickmott
Associate Professor
Neuroscience
Ph.D., Yale University, 1994

Email: peter.hickmott@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-7308
Office: 2111H

Neuroscience; organization and plasticity of cortical circuits.

Kelly Huffman

Kelly Huffman
Associate Professor
Neuroscience
Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2000

Email: kelly.huffman@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4805
Office: 2117

Neuroscience; development and arealization of the cerebral cortex.

Brent Hughes

Brent Hughes
Assistant Professor
Social/Personality
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2012

Email: brent.hughes@ucr.edu
Office: 3127

Social neuroscience, social cognition, self regulation, motivation, decision making.

Edward Korzus

Edward Korzus
Associate Professor
Neuroscience
Ph.D., University of Georgia

Email: edward.korzus@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4992
Office: 2111G

Korzus Lab
How neural circuits hold knowledge and guide behavior.

Judith Kroll

Judith Kroll
Distinguished Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., Brandeis University, 1977

Email: judith.kroll@ucr.edu
Office: 1131

Bilingualism, Mind, and Brain Lab   |   RA Application
Psycholinguistics, cognitive neuroscience, second language learning and bilingualism.

Sonja Lyubomirsky

Sonja Lyubomirsky
Professor
Social/Personality; Health
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1994

Personal website
Email: sonja.lyubomirsky@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5041
Office: 3111C

RA Application
Architecture of sustainable happiness; experimental inductions of generosity, gratitude, and humility; thwarting hedonic adaptation to positive experience.

Sara Mednick

Sara Mednick
Associate Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2003

Personal website
Email: sara.mednick@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5259
Office: 2111A

Sleep and Cognition Lab   |   RA Application
Understanding mechanisms of memory consolidation through investigating sleep and pharmacology.

Kalina Michalska

Kalina Michalska
Assistant Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., The University of Chicago, 2009

Email: kalina.michalska@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5209
Office: 1137

Kids Interaction and Neurodevelopment Lab   |   RA Application
Brain bases underlying the development of emotion understanding.

Jessica Montag

Jessica Montag
Assistant Research Psychologist
Cognitive
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2013

Email: jessica.montag@ucr.edu
Office: 2111B

Psychology of Language Lab
Experiential bases of language learning, production, and comprehension.

Carolyn B. Murray

Carolyn B. Murray
Professor
Social/Personality
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1979

Email: carolyn.murray@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5293
Office: 3111A

Social psychology; psychology of Black experience; minority aging; attribution theory.

Misaki Natsuaki

Misaki Natsuaki
Associate Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2006

Email: misaki.natsuaki@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4806
Office: 3103

Early Growth and Development Study
Emotional and behavioral development in adolescence, developmental psychopathology, and biological and contextual interaction, puberty.

Daniel Ozer

Daniel Ozer
Professor
Social/Personality; Quantitative
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1982

Email: daniel.ozer@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5211
Office: 2111C

Personality Assesment Lab   |   RA Application
Personality assessment and development; research methods.

Khaleel A. Razak

Khaleel A. Razak
Associate Professor
Neuroscience
Ph.D., University of Wyoming, 2001

Email: khaleel@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5060
Office: 2123

Razak Lab
The development of sensory processing. The development of both sound localization and echolocation behaviors in the pallid bat.

Chandra A. Reynolds

Chandra A. Reynolds
Professor
Developmental; Quantitative; Health
Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1994

Email: chandra.reynolds@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-2430
Office: 3302

Biobehavioral Research Lab   |   RA Application
Life-span psychology, cognitive aging, developmental psychopathology, behavioral genetics.

Rebekah A. Richert

Rebekah A. Richert
Associate Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 2003

Email: rebekah.richert@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4804
Office: 3111G

Childhood Cognition Lab   |   RA Application
Cognitive development, social cognition, transfer of learning from fantasy and media, religious concept development.

Megan Robbins

Megan Robbins
Assistant Professor
Social/Personality; Health
Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2012

Email: megan.robbins@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4988
Office: 2101

OBSERVE Lab   |   RA Application
Social psychology; coping; health & well-being.

David Rosenbaum

David Rosenbaum
Distinguished Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1977

Personal website
Email: david.rosenbaum@ucr.edu
Phone: 814-571-1891
Office: 1135

Laboratory for Cognition and Action   |   RA Application
Cognition and action.

Lawrence Rosenblum

Lawrence Rosenblum
Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., University of Connecticut, 1989

Personal website
Email: lawrence.rosenblum@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4400
Office: 2121

Audiovisual Speech and Audition Lab
Speech and auditory perception; ecological psychology.

Robert Rosenthal

Robert Rosenthal
Distinguished Professor
Social/Personality; Quantitative
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1956

Email: robert.rosenthal@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4503
Office: 3111B

Research methodology and statistics; nonverbal behavior and sensitivity; expectancy effects and education.

Aaron Seitz

Aaron Seitz
Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., Boston University, 2002

Personal website
Email: aseitz@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-6422
Office: 3101

Brain Game Center   |   RA Application
Organization of the sensory systems and how the brain selectively adapts to important environmental changes.

B. Glenn Stanley

B. Glenn Stanley
Professor
Neuroscience
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1982

Email: glenn.stanley@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5625
Office: 2111B

Neuroscience; control of eating behavior.

Kate Sweeny

Kate Sweeny
Associate Professor
Social/Personality; Health
Ph.D. University of Florida, 2008

Email: ksweeny@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-7165
Office: 3123

Life Events Lab   |   RA Application
How people give news of, prepare for, and respond to negative life events.

Thomas Sy

Thomas Sy
Associate Professor
Social/Personality
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2000

Email: thomas.sy@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5059
Office: 3117

How the leadership process contributes to high performance at the individual, group, and organizational levels.

Jon A. Willits

Jon A. Willits
Assistant Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2012

Personal website
Email: jon.willits@ucr.edu
Office: 3121

Language and Learning Lab   |   RA Application
Computational, neurobiological, experimental, and naturalistic studies of language and learning.

Rachel Wu

Rachel Wu
Assistant Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., Birkbeck, University of London, 2011

Personal website
Email: rachel.wu@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5269
Office: 1133

Cognitive Agility Across the Lifespan Lab   |   RA Application
Developmental cognitive neuroscience research studies of how attention and learning interact from infancy to aging when finding and learning relevant information.

Tuppett Yates

Tuppett Yates
Professor
Developmental
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2005

Email: tuppett.yates@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4991
Office: 3111H

Adversity and Adaptation Lab   |   RA Application
Developmental processes underlying positive developmental pathways among at-risk youth.

Edward Zagha

Edward Zagha
Assistant Professor
Neuroscience
M.D., Ph.D., NYU School of Medicine, 2010

Email: edward.zagha@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-4386
Office: 2302

Zagha Lab   |   RA Application
Cellular and circuit mechanisms of sensory detection and impulse control.

Weiwei Zhang

Weiwei Zhang
Assistant Professor
Cognitive
Ph.D., University of Iowa, 2007

Email: weiwei.zhang@ucr.edu
Phone: 951-827-5242
Office: 3132

Cognitive Neuroscience of Perception, Attention, & Memory Lab   |   RA Application
Capacity and precision of visual perception, attention, and memory; Hierarchical Representations in visual memory; Feature-based attention; Cognitive modeling; ERPs.